MY UNUSUAL WASH DAY – REVIEW

Hello sugar bunnies,

Been a while I did a natural hair related post. So here’s one for today! Actually the other day, I did a poll on Instagram and the ”Yaays” had it. If you still don’t follow me on Instagram, what are you waiting for? Click or search for @fisayoade to find me.

I had exhausted most all of my products except my vo5 conditioner I just got on wash day so I had to be creative. So if you’re like me; out of products or on a tight budget but still need your hair to be fly you should read this to the end.

So I started out by making my own leave in conditioner or hair masque.
What I used

  • A handful of Shea butter
  • 3 table spoon of Coconut oil
  • A drop of carrot oil
  • A spoon of honey

To be honest I was not really sure of what I was doing lol I just whipped it all together until it became really fluffy. It did well to moisturise my hair but it was a bit oily. So I guess I’ll have to improve on that.

Pree poo/ hot oil treatment

I went ahead to prepare my pree poo, I also used this as my hot oil treatment as well. Hot oil treatment should be done on clean hair but who gave the rules? ha ha. I just figured that I should use one stone to kill two birds ( a very popular quote used by Nigerians) because I was having a pretty long day and I still had a long way to go. I wrote extensively about the importance of a preepoo here, and if you don’t know what a pree poo is, you should read basic natural hair terms (A-Z ).
What I Used

Perm kernel oil, (Palm kernel oil, which is extracted from the nut, or kernel, of a species of African palm tree, is commonly referred to as tropical oil). I did a review on my Instagram, so because I loved the results.

How I used it:

I tied some of the oil in a nylon and put it in a pot of water and allowed it to boil for about 5 minutes. I applied the oil in sections and covered my hair in a plastic cap for about 30 minutes. I noticed my hair was really soft and easy to manage while detangling.

Detangle

This is the part everyone hates, who’s with me?

I rinsed out the oil (once) till it became damp. I used my Vo5 anti frizz conditioner, got it for N700, I was so lucky it was the last one in the store that day. Sectioned my hair into four parts and got to work. It has an amazing slip and smells really good too.

Wash

I used Dudu Osun + vo5 antifreeze conditioner to wash my hair. My hair was really dirty so I couldnt afford the luxury of cowashing. I usually wash my hair in twists so it doesn’t tangle,
How to use

Apply the bar directly on your scalp (avoid your hair as much as you can). I used dudu Osun to wash my hair because I noticed a bit of flakes in my hair, I’ve used this to treat dandruff before and it worked magic for me, read all about it here . I used the Vo5 antifreeze conditioner to condition as well. There could be mistakes causing your hair to break and it may even be the way you wash your hair. Read about them here

Deep condition- Bentonite Clay Mask + Water/ Rice rinse

If you know me well or have been following my blog, you know I’m big on this. I actually wanted to do a clay mask with Apple Cider Vinegar but I couldn’t because the one’s I saw in the stores are way too expensive and my account balance is screaming ”priority ma’am.”

So an Idea came into my mind and I thought, why don’t I use water? I made research and saw I had other people thinking like me (great minds), and I went for it.
How to make and use

Add some Bentonite Clay in a bowl, add water until you get a consistency you desire. Warning: It gets dry pretty fast so you have hurry. After I rinsed it out, I honestly didn’t see any much difference if I had used ACV. Still had the same curly effect. Thank God!Section your hair and apply from roots to tips. Cover in a plastic cap for about 30-1 hour and rinse off.

Rice rinse : I’ve been hearing all about this rice rinse so I decided to incorporate it. I also have some good news about rice water people. Will be sharing with y’all soon, super excited!
How to make and Use

I soaked a handful of rice in a bowl of water and left it for 24 hours. You know its ready when it smells like its sour. I literally soaked all my hair in this rice water and left it for about 10-15 minutes. I did not cover it with a plastic cap considering I had already deep conditioned with the mask. I didn’t want to over do lol.

Moisturise

So I used my self made leave in conditioner which I have named ”fifss leave in conditioner 😂” lol you can place your orders now. This is what I still have on my hair and my hair still feels very moisturised however I add a little water when I feel the need to.

Final Thoughts

I think I achieved my goal, which was to get squeaky clean moisturised hair. If being natural is getting too expensive for you, you should get creative with what you’ve got! Read my post on going natural without breaking your bank account.

We’ve come to the end of this post. I hope you found it helpful! Have you had a wash day similar to this? or you have any contributions or feedback, kindly let me know it the comment section.

Thanks for always reading!

Fisayo ❤

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Tamie says:

    Wash days are struggle for me, as my hair grows. It makes me miss my TWA days. Its not even as if the hair is that long oh, but its no longer so easy to handle.

    Your hair is very pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can imagine. I miss mine too sometimes, just find a simple regimen and stick to it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Damdam says:

    Yaayyy nice work! Would definitely try the rice rinse. 😆😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks b. Would love to hear and see your feedback 😏. Thanks for stopping by 😘

      Like

  3. Debs says:

    I really wish I can put in so much time like this into my hair but I can’t and I don’t know why. Your hair looks so healthy and full.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks darling. Lol maybe your texture doesn’t need time 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really need to try Dudu Osun on my hair. In fact I’m trying it today. I love your hair btw, I wish mine was this pretty and lush but I’m lazy. Lmao

    Pearl | http://thepearlylife.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pearl!!! ❤ we’ve missed you oh. Your hair is beautiful please. Just get a simple regimen, I think it’ll be helpful

      Like

  5. Nikki says:

    Creativity and a need…hey this how we learn and how new products/methods are learned!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know!!! Thank you so much.

      Like

  6. Prisca says:

    Been waiting for this post like since you talked about it. Nyc one, looking forward to have my wash day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excited!
      Please let me know how it went!

      Like

  7. African sunflower says:

    Thanks for the post! I use some of the products which you used but have never tried Dudu Osun for hair washing, I will have to do this soon! As for the Bentonite clay, it works wonders to help those curls pop 🙂 🙂 Your hair is wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the feedback. And thank you ❤

      Like

Leave a comment