Things You Don’t Know That Could Lead to Natural Hair Breakage

Hey everyone. I have missed blogging so terribly much, and I missed you all too โค. This month has been so eventful for me, from one thing to another. I guess I just needed a little bit of time off to settle down. Wow! The year is almost over already, super GRATEFUL. I’m most grateful for the stability in my spiritual life, I’ve had the most stable relationship with God this year, and I realized relationships take work and discipline.

I completed my service year (NYSC) earlier this month, which I’m very thankful for. I know 2017 is ending for me and you on a good note, the remaining days of this year will be filled with favour and blessings for everyone of us, in Jesus name, amen.

.

So this is like a life update/natural hair post, I’m sure you already figured ๐Ÿ˜‚. So I’ll be talking about mistakes that could lead to breakage. Especially in this harmattan (dry) season, your hair needs all the help can get. So let’s get right into it.

One of the mistakes you could be making include:

  • Leaving the ends of your hair unattended to:

The ends of your hair are the weakest therefore they are prone to breakage, so extra care has to be taken. My default styles used to be Afro or Afro bun. These styles expose the ends of my hair and at the end of the day, there be a lot of knots and tangles to battle with. Best way to keep your hair free from knots and tangles is to put the ends of your hair in a twist or braid. Leaving it unattended to would cause breakage and you don’t want that especially when you’re all about retaining length.

For me, if I’m going to leave my hair in an Afro, I’m ready for excessive detangling on wash day. I try to avoid it as best as I can, or I face the consequences.

  • Always combing your hair:

Yeah, you read that right. For me, I used to be team NO combs, but I can’t anymore because my hair is currently thicker than a forest. I only comb my hair every once in a while when I can’t deal with knots or tangles (very unhealthy, try your best to detangle with a lot of conditioner). If you must comb use a wide tooth comb, helps reduce breakage and it’s effective at the same time.

  • Moisturizing your hair with only natural oils:

Don’t be fooled, using only oils or only shea butter will only make your hair very dry if your hair has no form of moisture. Your hair needs a leave in conditioner, water and a lot of deep conditioning.

  • Washing your hair like you’re washing clothes:

I had to learn this the hard way, always wash your hair in twists. Especially if your hair is quite full. So the other day I washed my hair like I was washing clothes, and my hair matted badly as a result I had a lot of breakage I wanted to cry ๐Ÿ˜ญ. Kinky hair can be a handful if you’re not careful.

  • Not blending your deep conditioning/pree poo ingredients properly:

If you do not have a blender, do not use a banana or any other natural ingredient that needs to be blended. It’s going to be a disaster. Lol I don’t have much to say but just trust me on this one ๐Ÿ˜Š.

  • You underestimate sealing hair moisture:

Learn to moisturize your hair regularly and always seal the moisture. I use the LOC method which is L-liquid (leave in conditioner), O-Oil (this seals in the moisture ) and C-cream (curling cream, styling cream etc ) further seals moisture. A properly moisturized hair is key to avoid frizz and breakage.

So I’ve come to the end of today’s post, I hope you found it helpful ? Thank you for reading, please do share in the comment section if you’ve made any of these mistakes before, what was your experience like?

Fisayo ๐ŸŒธ

14 Comments Add yours

  1. rudymariee says:

    Love these tips!! Iโ€™m trying to learn how to navigate my daughters 4c hair type. Iโ€™m definitely guilty of some of these mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol thank you. Deep conditioning will help her a lot

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Folusho says:

    I swear by deep conditioning

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. It’s everything I tell you

      Like

  3. Great tips! There is also something that happens that nobody knows or talks about โ€“ our hair clips! Things we put in our hair make it BREAK โ€“ but our stretch bombs donโ€™t do that and they stay in comfortably all day. No headaches, no pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right !!! Thank you for this ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  4. savvyzone says:

    Great tips! Your afro puff is so cuteโ˜บ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  5. Sam says:

    So helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. iamtinu says:

    Thank you for the tips dear..๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
    Check out my new post, its also on hair
    https://tinutrends.wordpress.com/2018/02/15/a-hairstyle-that-makes-you-look-younger/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment