How To Go Natural (Hair) Without Breaking Your Bank Account

deal
February 2016

I fell in love with the natural hair look two years before I went natural. I stalled so many times before I finally put my fears aside, and made the best decision that changed my hair forever. I was a bit reluctant because my relaxed hair was really long (maybe not so long but I got a lot of wows and  compliments ๐Ÿ˜). Plus the thought of putting a scissors in my hair was quite terrifying ๐Ÿ˜‚

before
My relaxed hair before big Chop

So ladies, if you’re planning on going natural soon, I’m not going to lie to you that you’re not going to freak out. Oh YOU WOULD! . A lot of crazy thoughts would suffice. Thoughts like; what if my hair doesn’t grow, am I making the right decision in life, would I be ugly, how would I breathe?  When you begin to think like this then you are ready for this!

JUST GO FOR IT

Trusting your gut is the first step to this natural hair journey. Just go for it! So making up your mind is the first step. Not with a lipstick though ๐Ÿ˜ข

TRANSITION OR OUTRIGHT BIG CHOP

It all depends on how you want to go about it. I transitioned for a few months ( 9 -10 months). I wasn’t sure how I was going to look with a bald head so I decided to play it safe. To transition means that you have to keep your hair away from relaxers for a period of time. This process might be a bit uncomfortable, so I would advice that you fix weaves as often as possible, because combing everyday is not going to be easy.

After months of transitioning, I had my big chop. I got really excited about the journey I was embarking on and I’ve had no regrets, not even for a day.

IMG_20170316_123427_778
September 18th 2015; day after my big chop

The bald look is not a bad idea, only if you would look this good ๐Ÿ˜„. The outright big chop is for you if you have the confidence to rock it. So basically you can choose to transition for a while and do the big chop or go for the outright big chop. The good news is that you can do this whichever way you want to.

IMG_20170316_115846_196
Maybe I should have gone for the bald look

So lets get down to my favorite part;

WHAT PRODUCTS TO USE

I’m not a product junkie, but I believe there a essentials every naturalista should have. If your hair is still short, there are some products you can do without for now. And if you’re scared of going natural because people have convinced you that being natural is too expensive. You are reading the right blog. I would say it is only expensive if you choose to buy very expensive products which may not necessarily be good for your hair, or you buy all your products at once.

My starter kit was a leave in conditioner (Cantu in shea butter), shea butter (ori), olive oil, coconut oil and Eco styler gel. I had no shampoo and my hair still flourished. I had dandruff so I was advised by a friend to use Dudu Osun soap. Y’all should know that black soap. I think it worked really well in reducing the itching and whiteness. You might want to give it a try if you you’re suffering from dandruff. I got a proper shampoo and conditioner (sulfate free) after a few months. Dudu Osun saved me the extra cost of a shampoo. Although I used a conditioner (v05) alongside the black soap, it was sulpate free and cheap. You would spend some money at the beginning, but the amazing thing about this is that once you have these products, they last you a long time before you spend money replacing them.

DEEP CONDITIONING

Although I didn’t start out with deep conditioning my hair, I think I started after two months. The place of deep conditioning cannot be over emphasized.  Deep conditioning helps bring out the real texture of your hair. It defines your curls, it moisturizes your hair, in fact it gives life to your hair. I use Eden body works deep conditioner (coconut). It smells so amazing, wish I could eat it, it’s an amazing product. I didn’t start out with Eden, I started with Olive which is way cheaper, used it for a while until I discovered Eden. You can start with Olive and as time goes on, you can change products. worked for me.

fifi
October 2016

Follow these, and you wouldn’t have to stress about spending so much money on your natural hair.

I hope this article was helpful, I’d love to see your thoughts and comments. Questions are welcomed too.

More to come โค

11 thoughts on “How To Go Natural (Hair) Without Breaking Your Bank Account

  1. Wow I have read your posts and they are very inspiring..
    I have a slot for guest posting on blog, would you like to be part of my team of contributors? I would really love to have your posts featured on my blog…thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t big chop because of a relaxer my hair was just a mess and I wanted to start over so I went bald! My mum just bought me some eden bodyworks deep conditioner, cant wait to use it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

