Basics of Deep Conditioning ( 4 Simple Steps)

IMG_20170324_184625_018
Freshly deep conditioned Hair

People are always fascinated by the look and feel of my hair. The secret to achieving this is through consistent deep conditioning. This  basic DIY treatment is something anyone can achieve. When I discovered deep conditioning, my hair texture not only improved, but the level of hair breakage I experienced reduced to a minimum. Hence, deep conditioning is very important if you want your natural hair journey  to be enjoyable. Before I explain how I deep condition my hair, I’d like to point out the importance of deep conditioning. This is not only out of what I’ve read or seen, but what has worked for me.

Importance of Deep Conditioning

  1. Softens hair
  2. Defines curl pattern
  3. Helps reduce Frizz
  4. Protects hair from damage/breakage

Hair Mayonnaise/ Deep conditioner

IMG_20170324_182327_914.jpg
Eden Hair Masque

First thing you need is an actual deep conditioner, this is not necessary as there are other natural treatments( bananas, avocados etc) you could use. This is easier because you may not always have the time for mixtures. I got this Eden hair masque last year in August. It was about N4,500, I’m not sure how much it is right now. All I can say is that this Hair Masque is everything. From the sweet smell to the perfect results it brings. The first time I used it, I couldn’t recognize my hair. My hair got really soft and curly. Here are the  four basic steps to follow when deep conditioning:

  1. Wet Hair/ Section Hair

Pour a little water on your hair ( if hair is not freshly washed), not dripping wet, but damp. section hair into four parts, it makes application easier. Apply hair mask gradually from one section to another. you detangle your hair alongside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2. Cover hair in plastic Cap

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I usually leave mine in the plastic cap for one hour, that’s if I’m not in a hurry to go out. Leave in plastic cap or thirty minutes to one hour, depends on what you want. Never leave hair treatment on hair for lengthy hours or overnight as this might cause damage. Don’t over do it please.

3. Wash Hair Masque off

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Can you see the curls? OMG! My camera did not do enough justice. I used my Palmers Coconut oil formular to co-wash. Co-washing involves the process of washing your hair with only a conditioner (without shampoo). I didn’t use a shampoo  because my hair was not dirty. It is always advisable to wash your hair first with a shampoo (if dirty), before you deep condition.

4. Style

While hair is damp, apply leave in conditioner, shea butter, coconut oil, olive oil etc whatever it is you use. Then style hair to your preference. I usually leave my hair in its afro state or do a pineapple bun.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THE END

Just kidding, more to come ❀

6 thoughts on “Basics of Deep Conditioning ( 4 Simple Steps)

Leave a Reply

