Two Years Natural – 30 Lessons I Have Learned

Hello lovelies ! Welcome back to my blog. I’m very excited because today makes it two years since I had my big chop. Hence today is my 4C natural hair anniversary. Based on my experience so far, there are a few lessons I’ve learned in the course of growing strong and healthy hair. I will be sharing 30 of them, I hope they’re helpful 😊. Here we go:

1. What works for everyone may not work for you

2. Embrace your shrinkage

3. Enjoy the process of detangling, washing , moisturizing, enjoy everything !

4. Know what your hair likes

5. Don’t over experiment

6. Stop comparing your hair to others because no two texture are the same

7. You’ll get hate comments and positive comments, don’t dwell on it the negative ones

8. Be ready to answer questions on the streets about your hair

9. Eat healthy, what you take in is very important to grow healthy hair

10. Let your hair breathe sometimes, stop stressing 11. Protective hairstyles help your hair grow

12. You don’t have to be a product junkie to be natural

13. You don’t have to spend all your money on hair products

14. Shea butter is everything

15. Natural oils are the best, always have at least one available

16. MOISTURIZE your hair. Don’t be caught with dry hair

17. Deep conditioning will ultimately improve your curls

18. When breakage happens, because it will. Don’t be terrified. Know why and avoid it

19. You will get bad hair days. Eg. Days your twist outs don’t turn out as planned

20. Don’t believe everything you see about natural hair on the internet

21. Never visit a salon that’s not exposed to the natural hair trend. They will annoy you, trust me.

22. Patience is key in this hair journey

23. Learn as much as you can about your hair

24. Wigs will help you a great deal

25. Embracing your natural hair will ultimately improve your self love

26. There are no rules to this thing, only guidelines

27. Being natural will save you from pains that come with hair chemicals

28. Beware of strangers who readily want to dig their hands in your hair to know if it’s real

29. Every stage of growth has it perks. kinda miss when my hair used to be really low 😭

30. Hence, enjoy every stage of your hair growth Here are a few of my favorite natural hair pictures, I do hope they inspire you 🌸

21 thoughts on “Two Years Natural – 30 Lessons I Have Learned

  1. Aww…
    So nice sis!
    Love these pictures…
    But am still not cutting my hair.πŸ˜œπŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ˜Š
    You’ve come a long way.

    I remember how my eyes poped out when you said you wanted to cut your already extremely long unatural hair… πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯
    I was so shocked…
    Asin eh…
    In my mind I was like “See all this people with long hair o! God why did you give people long hair who want to only throw it away!” and in my mind, my face transitioned like this… 😰😨😱😞 πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯😒😣😒
    Lol! Right…

    Am so proud of you dear.
    Cheers to more years of longer natural hair. πŸ˜€
    Happy Fifi Hair Day! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜˜

    Or Happy Fish Of Dog Hair Day! πŸ˜œπŸ˜‚πŸ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice fro…..mine is just 8 months .And i learnt that you do not need to spend much to have a lovely natural hair just know what works for you and stick to it . I also cannot wait to have hair that is as long as yours ,as much as i love my twa it really gets frustrating to wash my hair every 3 days because i can’t avoid getting sheabutter on my scalp and it gets really itchy. I don’t know if you can relate .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right b. Sticking to what works for you is very key. I used to have itchy scalp because of dandruff, so I know how frustrating it can be. Shea butter never makes my scalp itch. You sure it’s because of the Shea butter or maybe something else? What else do you use of your scalp? I’d be glad to help ..😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t apply anything else to my scalp except the whipped shea butter ……which contains just a lilttle bit of coconut oil ,olive oil, honey and sheabutter . I used to add aloevera but i thought that was what was causing the itchiness so i stopped adding it and my scalp still itchiness.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Okay dear. I think for you to know or be sure of what’s causing the itchy ness, you have have to test the products individually on your scalp. It may be the honey or the combination of all the products on your scalp. For me, honey works against my skin, I didn’t know until I put honey on my face and ended up with allergic reactions. And try shea butter individually to see if it still itches 😘

        Liked by 1 person

      3. And speaking of honey i actually thought i was the only one who reacts badly to applying honey on my face .Most people say it works for their acne while it makes mine worse . And just kept wondering if i was weird or something.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Fifi😍. @adenikkie d great you’re not alone dear. If I put Shea Butter on my hair I’m calling for temporary madness cuz I end up scratching my hair all day every where. I guess some people are allergic to it the same way honey works adversely for others. Cheers 🍻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

