Musings About my NYSC Camp Experience ( Episode 1)

first day.jpg
first week, I was still feeling fly πŸ˜‚

I must have written this blog post a hundred times in my head because I really don’t know what has been holding me back πŸ˜“

Anyway back to the real thing. So I’m currently serving in Portharcourt Rivers state, Nigeria. My NYSC Camp was in November 2016, I spent three whole weeks in a village called Nonwa gbam Tai. 

During the first week of camp, I was still a bit irritated not just by the fact that my legs were on fire (hurting bad) but by the fact that I had to run unnecessarily, wake up as early as 3 am to shower 😭, before we get chased out of our hostels by soldiers. It was crazy! 

Oh my days, I remember my first morning on camp. It wasn’t even up to 5 am yet and the trumpet was already blown. The man o war officials and soldiers had already invaded our halls, screaming and blowing whistles at everyone, some ladies even ran out with only a bra on πŸ˜‚. I had showered and dressed up in my white t-shirt and white shorts, all I needed to do was put on my socks and snicks. It was my first day so I was still feeling fly, I had time to draw my brows and put a little lipstick πŸ˜‚

We all ran to the field, I was very confused as to why we were running! Because everyone one was running and the soldiers shouting at the top of their voices, what choice did that leave me. In a split second, I couldn’t find my bunk mate who was running with me. It was still dark so it was hard to recognize faces. All I could hear were soldier men throwing curses everywhere (those guys were very insulting)πŸ˜”. One of the female soldiers started checking the ladies faces for makeup and asked them to wipe it off, before she got to me, I had licked my red lipstick away, lol I hate embarrassments.

first2
make up still on fleek here lol

The first week was hell for me because my platoon members were the rebels on camp! “Platoon 9, number 9 platoon, platoon number 9” πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Our default mode on camp was punishment. Other platoons were tired of us, the officials were tired of us. My legs were hurting because we were always kneeling down or squatting, talk less of the fact that I had to run to the field every morning. Thank God for Aboniki (healing balm) and heat spray I used everyday to massage my pain away 😩.

I hated how no one could walk past soldiers without hearing ”double up”. Once you see a soldier, you had to run, if you don’t run or don’t run properly, you will be made to jog on the spot! For a really long time, I was a culprit once or twice πŸ˜­

In my first week, I wasn’t really talking to anyone in my platoon because they always got us in trouble, and I was still observing anyway πŸ˜€. I noticed that people in front always suffered more from the punishment but the trouble was always from the back. So I decided to start staying at the back with the bad guys 😩. 

Want to know what happened when I started staying at the back? 

Watch out for Episode 2  😘


19 thoughts on “Musings About my NYSC Camp Experience ( Episode 1)

  1. Lmao OMG this was really entertaining to read I can’t wait for part 2. Those soldiers sound so annoying! NYSC sounds really rough! 😭😭 But you looked graceful in the madness.

    Pearl ~ thepearlylife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    A ya ya… Lol!
    I can just see the movie in my head, reminds me of my own experience… πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Asin… Some platoons are just are troublesome…
    Let me guess, the kneeling down punishment was then shifted to the back? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Great stuff sis!
    You rock and are always shinning in the midst of it all. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Buhaha we need to talk about this NYSC camp oh! The funniest thing about the camp has got to be the kind of people we get to meet (lol). We have characters in this country. And those soldiers.. Please don’t even get started on them. Thanks for sharing. I should try detailing my own experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

