Short Story: What if all men aren’t scum? 

I sat there- on one of the garden chairs under the trees, it was a beautiful day. I loved how the sun kissed my skin lightly, with the soft breeze blowing my hair off my shoulder. That’s when I noticed an attractive woman in a beautiful blue dress, and a handsome looking guy in a nicely cut brown blazer. I tried looking from the side of my eyes, trying not to make it too obvious that I was staring. I couldn’t take my eyes off them. They were the only couple I could see. Oh the  beauty before me. 

The way he stared at her, not lustfully, it was something else, it was in his eyes. I’m not sure what it was, but it was beautiful. I could see the excitement written all over their facesI couldn’t stop watching, this time, not with my side eye. I didn’t care if they saw me, I doubt they noticed me, as they were too lost in eachothers presenceI turned my head properly, facing the couple. I looked at the epitome of his attention, she was glowing, I could tell she was happy, truly happy. I smiled to myself, and then put up a straight face again when I remembered what had happened over the weekend . I thought to myself, what if all men aren’t really scum? 

Trying to read his mind. All I could see was sheer happiness and contentment. In that moment, he took her hands into his, squeezed them lightly. He started whispering something to her, I couldn’t quite make out what he was saying but from the look on her face, I knew it must have been pretty serious. She burst out crying and then he went on his knees and brought out a ring. “OMG!”, She screamed, her laughter mixed with tiny sobs. Tears streaming down her eyes, she screamed “yes!” 

That’s when I heard a voice scream CUT. “great work guys”. A short bald man stood up from where he was sitting and walked over to them. “Can we go over this scene  one more time before we shoot,” he said. That’s when I noticed the cameras and lights. I was a bit dumbfounded. 

Now I wanted to believe it was real 😖

Moral lesson: Stop judging people or situations from afar. Sometimes they’re just acting. 

What if all men aren’t scum? 

Only God knows 😂😂

9 thoughts on “Short Story: What if all men aren’t scum? 

Leave a Reply

